The Leicester Symphony Orchestra is a registered charity, number: 1078708. Comments and suggestions about this site to
LSO logo Leicester Symphony Orchestra
Home Page Home Page
Concert diary Concert diary
Tickets Tickets
How to join and vacancies How to join and vacancies
Friends and Patrons Friends and Patrons
John Andrews John Andrews
Photo gallery Photo gallery
Recent tours Recent tours
News and reviews News and reviews
History History
Contacts and links Contacts and links
Members' Info Members' Info
Player Profiles Player profiles
Book Book

f logo find us on Facebook

The LSO is grateful to
for their assistance with this website.

Leicester Symphony Orchestra
The First 90 Years

The LSO was founded in 1922 by Malcolm Sargent and this book by Neil Crutchley celebrates the orchestra's first 90 years. Neil first came to an LSO concert as a school boy in 1967 and has since contributed hundreds of articles and reviews of LSO concerts to the Leicester Mercury over the years. There are nearly 150 high quality illustrations, mostly from the LSO archive, showing a wealth of photos, programmes, brochures and posters. It is a story that deserves to be told. In short, a great read.

"In this marvellously informative, absorbing and well crafted book, Neil Crutchley celebrates the history of Leicester Symphony Orchestra - its ups and downs, its triumphs and stumbles. The story is related with warmth and enthusiasm, and he shows the huge role the LSO has played in the cultural life of the city."
John Florance

Book Cover
"90 years! I was most honoured to be invited to participate in your celebration concert. It was great to see such a large, enthusiastic audience, and so many young people. You are at the heart of musical life in Leicester. What you give to society through your music making is priceless. It's refreshing to see such a forward looking orchestra, embracing music from all eras with such aplomb. All the very best with the book and to the next 90 years!"
Dame Evelyn Glennie

Dame Evelyn Glennie
Photo: Steve Goudie
The book was published on 1 May 2013, cost £5. Post & packaging is free within UK, £5 outside UK - please allow 14 days for delivery. The book can be bought:

at LSO concerts
from any LSO member
by post from: Sam Dobson, 69 Greengate Lane, Birstall, Leicester, LE4 3JG (0116 2677372)
  Please provide your name, a contact phone number and delivery address,
  together with a cheque made payable to Leicester Symphony Orchestra.
on-line: click below
Select Country: